Miller named Cicero Council president


As of the first meeting on Jan. 2, 2018, Rusty Miller is the new president of the Cicero Town Council. The vote to decide that change in leadership was held at the end of 2017 because some council members had plans that conflicted with the first town council meeting of the year on Jan. 2.

Miller’s vice-president in 2018 is Chris Lutz.

It has long been the practice of the Cicero Town Council to name a new president each year, though there is no official policy to that effect.

Miller had attended Cicero Town Council meeting for several years before he ever ran for office.

“I have been attending town council meeting for the past 10 years and was vice-president in 2017,” Miller said. “This is the beginning of my third year as a member of the council.”

Miller explained that the council president has no special statutory authoritative power over other council members, but the president is responsible for running meetings. Miller does expect to get more calls from citizens and organizations with concerns, which he will be responsible for replaying to the rest of the council and department heads.

Speaking of outgoing president Chad Amos, Miller said, “Chad has done a stellar job running the presidency last year. I will continue to do the best I can for our community.”

Cicero Town Council members serve four-year terms. Miller will not have to run for reelection until 2019 for the 2020-2024 term.


Actions taken by Cicero Town Council Jan. 2

Appoint department heads:

  • Police Chief Dave Hildebrand
  • Fire Chief Lance Overholser
  • Street/Utility Pat Comer
  • Plan Commission C.J. Taylor
  • Parks Charlie Cambre

Appointment to Cicero Metropolitan Police Commission: re-appoint Mike Orr to another three-year term

Appointment to Storm Water Management Board: Bruce Freeman after Paul Utterback retires from the board. Mr. Utterback was a member of the board from the creation of the Storm Water Management Board.

Re-appointments to the Cicero Economic Development Commission: Bruce Knott and Joe Cox to three-year terms.

Appointments for town department liaisons (no changes):

  • Parks – Rusty Miller
  • Police – Brett Foster
  • Plan Commission – Craig Penwell
  • Fire – Chad Amos
  • Street/Utilities – Chris Lutz
  • OTC – Rusty Miller
  • EDC – Brett Foster/Chris Lutz